My First Blog and Remedies for Boredom

Welcome to my first blog – I hope you enjoy reading it and my future blog posts! Please check out the ‘About’ section of my site to see what this blog is all about and why I am doing this in case you are wondering….

So, the first thing to know about me is that I’m a Gemini. I’m not one generally for astrology and if anything I have a laugh at the horoscope section in magazines (don’t we all like to have a read of them and think, hmm how much does this relate to my life now?! That’s totally true! Or what a load of tripe!). However, one of the things I’ve heard about Geminis if you believe it to be true is that we get bored VERY easily, and that is completely true of me! I would generally describe myself as a social butterfly – I often like the company of people and fluttering away from one activity to another, but I also need my own space and alone time; my cocoon and comforts, if you like. But i’m also a creature of habit. If I’m occupied and following a usual weekly schedule, then I don’t have time to get bored. My mind is occupied, and there is always plenty to be getting on with in my job. At weekends and evenings, free time is precious and I try and make the most of all my spare time as much as possible, to find time to do things that I actually want to do and enjoy, to chillax and have that all important ‘me’ time. I also value my holidays and very much look forward to them, planning what i’ll likely be doing each day, and thinking of all the fun stuff I can do if I can somehow fit it all in…

The irony is, sometimes, when the time comes round, and the sea of free time stretches before me, taken out of my normal routine, I am faced with choice and sometimes wonder what the heck to do or where to start. Its been a long time since I’ve had a full week off work, and I did make my usual plan, and I was fine until about 3pm this afternoon. But as the day moved forward and I didn’t feel like I had much to occupy myself with, I consistently found myself wondering how to spend my time, and equally a little frustrated that I felt like I was wasting it. Repeatedly checking social media for something interesting to look at, but all the same, feeling saturated by all the fun other people seemed to be out having..(social media in my opinion, is both a blessing and curse, which I’m sure i’ll cover that in a future post. It seems to have changed a lot in recent years, and there doesn’t seem to be much value on just being over doing…but I digress). By the time by partner came home, I was near resembling Grumpy from Snow White and Seven Dwarfs and had regressed into a five year old;

‘I’m boooooooooored’
‘I don’t know what to do….’
‘I don’t have any motivation to do anything..’

And so forth.

So as I sat there, feeling sorry for myself that it felt like another lonely Saturday not really doing that much at all, partly my fault because I hadn’t bothered to go out and actually seek other life forms, except for checking the mail box and withdrawing some cash from a machine that didn’t even talk back, I sat there and realized that I need to make the effort to do something. Anything. Just get up and get out your funk. So that’s what I did. I relunctantly turned on the Xbox, moping and flopping back to the sofa like a worn out puppet, and tried to get my head in the game and focused on something. Ten minutes later I was laughing away, chasing a ‘ball’ around a ‘pitch’ in a little aggressive verhicle and thinking what a silly billy I was for not getting up and doing something else sooner. But it served as a reminder to me that I can change my mood by changing my activity, and the sooner I do this the better I am for it, but boredom sometimes sneaks up on us without us realizing at first. Rather than being sat stagnant, my brain became occupied in something else, and it served as a distraction from how I was feeling. You can use this technique in lots of scenarios, which I know I tend to do, but for some reason had forgotten. For example, maybe when your feeling tense or maybe when you have a problem that needs solving that you just can’t get your head round. A change of scene or activity is sometimes all that you need. And people say, ‘let’s change the subject’, when they want to move away from a situation. Or people talking about a problem with ‘a fresh head’ I’m sure we could pinpoint numerous examples that often we may not even realise we are doing. The important thing to remember is we are mostly in charge of how our day goes. We can either choose to feel bored and mopey, or we can change the course of the day and do something about it.

And so its now 9:31pm at night, and as a result of today’s feelings I’ve churned out today’s blog, and now feel rather pleased that at least that is something that I have accomplished today. But there are always lots of things to notice throughout out day that we may not always realise or appreciate as noteworthy or special at the time. Sometimes it is just the little things that we need to pay attention to, and perhaps focus more on ‘being’ rather than ‘doing’, but doing something else in the face of feeling frustrated with how we are ‘doing the being’ can often help us to move forward quicker, and turn a frown upside down, and smile and enjoy the day, and appreciate the here and now. It is something that seems so simple, but may not come to attention immediately, and it usually always the simple things that work the best.

What about you? What things do you like to do when you are bored or are there any techniques that you use to keep yourself in a positive mood? I’d love to hear your thoughts and experiences!

Till my next blog πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “My First Blog and Remedies for Boredom

  1. Victoria says:

    Thank you for an interesting read and well done you for pulling yourself out of that horrible place of being bored but not feeling bothered to do anything, not a nice place to be.

    My thought for the day was to be a little more spontaneous. I had an appointment in town but went in early and ended up catching up with two very good friends I hadn’t seen in a while. Not something I would usually do. I also discovered the next sale and got some clothes for work that made me feel much better about myself, all that from deciding I wasn’t content spending another weekend couped up inside like a battery hen, hoping opportunity would come to me.

    Looking forward to the next read gem, you little inspirationalite xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mindandmatterweb says:

    Thanks for your comment lovely and glad you enjoyed reading it ^^ Sounds like you had a good day, so well done you for getting out there and doing something you wouldn’t normally do πŸ™‚ And I absolutely LOVE the word Inspirationalite – you’re a total gem for saying that, thank you I really appreciate it! πŸ™‚ xx

    Like

  3. lindseylivings says:

    Hello I’m new here too and wanted to say this is a really good first post. I totally understand this. I’d recommend going on a walk or doing any exercise really. Your walk can even be on a treadmill or just around the house and the exercise could be some ridiculously easy 10 minute stretching you found on YouTube. For me it makes me feel so much more motivated and then I also feel like I’m so healthy haha, even if it was just a few minutes. I’m the laziest person ever so any motivation is good. And if I’m not feeling it, then a good solid 5 hours of The Sims will do πŸ™‚
    Keep up with the posting and good luck finding entertainment out there

    Liked by 1 person

    • mindandmatterweb says:

      Hey! Thanks for your comment and kind words! That’s a good idea about getting up and just doing some walking/stretches, I’ll defo give that a try. I imagine it would have a similar effect of a change of perspective/make you feel refreshed. Or The Sims – a good distraction for sure! πŸ˜€ Good luck with your blog too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

